

Cabinet

Tuesday 19 March 2013 5.00 pm Ground Floor Meeting Room GO2A, 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Supplemental Agenda No.2

List of Contents

Item No. **Title** Page No.

7. **Deputation Requests**

1 - 2

To consider any deputation requests.

Contact

Everton Roberts 020 7525 7221 or Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395 Or email: everton.roberts@southwark.gov.uk; paula.thornton@southwark.gov.uk Webpage: http://www.southwark.gov.uk

Date: 15 March 2013

Agenda Item 7

Item No. 7.	Classification: Open	Date: 19 March 2013	Meeting Name: Cabinet	
Report title:		Deputation Requests	Deputation Requests	
Ward(s) or groups affected:		All		
From:		Proper Constitutional Officer		

RECOMMENDATION

- 1. That the cabinet consider whether to hear a deputation from the Pelican Plus tenants and residents association relating to their local community hall, Falcon House.
- 2. That the cabinet consider whether to hear a deputation from the Decima Street tenants and residents association relating to a request for funding towards the installation of door entry system for blocks on Meakin Estate, Elim Estate and Decima Street.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

- 3. When considering whether to hear the deputation request, cabinet can decide
 - To receive the deputation at this meeting or a future meeting; or
 - That the deputation not be received; or
 - To refer the deputation to the most appropriate committee/sub-committee.
- 4. A deputation shall consist of no more than six people, including its spokesperson. Only one member of the deputation shall be allowed to address the meeting for no longer than five minutes. After this time cabinet members may ask questions of the deputation for up to five minutes. At the conclusion of the questions, the deputation will be shown to the public area where they may listen to the remainder of the open section of the meeting.

KEY ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION

Pelican Plus Tenants and Residents Association

5. A deputation request has been submitted by the tenants and residents association to request that plans to turn their local community hall, Falcon House into flats be overturned, and that the hall is returned to the tenants and residents association to be used by the local people to build an even safer and stronger community.

Decima Street Tenants and Residents Association

6. The tenants and residents association would like to request that consideration be given for funding towards the installation of door entry system for blocks on Meakin Estate, Elim Estate and Decima Street.

Community impact statement

7. The Southwark Constitution allows for deputations to be made by groups of people resident or working in the borough.

REASONS FOR URGENCY

8. The deputation request was received in line with the constitutional deadline for the receipt of deputation requests and is therefore eligible for consideration by cabinet as to whether or not to hear the deputation at this meeting.

REASONS FOR LATENESS

9. The deadline for the receipt of deputation requests was 14 March 2013, after the main cabinet agenda despatch on 11 March 2013. It has therefore not been possible to send out this report five clear days in advance of the meeting because of the need to ensure that all deputation requests received by the deadline were included in this report.

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

Background Papers	Held At	Contact
Cabinet procedure rule 2.11 on deputations (page 163): http://www.southwark.gov.uk/download/ds/download/133/councils constitution	London SÉ1 2QH	Everton Roberts 020 7525 7221 or Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395

AUDIT TRAIL

Lead Officer	Ian Millichap, Constitutional Manager						
Report Author	Paula Thornton, Constitutional Officer						
Version	Final						
Dated	15 March 2013						
Key Decision?	No						
CONSULTATION WITH OTHER OFFICERS / DIRECTORATES / CABINET							
MEMBER							
Officer Title		Comments Sought	Comments Included				
Director of Legal Services		No	No				
Strategic Director of Finance		No	No				
and Corporate Services							
Cabinet Member		No	No				
Date final report sent to Constitutional Team			15 March 2013				

CABINET AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

MUNICIPAL YEAR 2012/13

Original held by Constitutional Team; all amendments/queries to Paula Thornton/Everton Roberts Tel: 020 7525 4395/7221 NOTE:

Name	No of	Name	No of
	copies		copies
Cabinet Members		Corporate Management Team	
Peter John	1	Eleanor Kelly	1
lan Wingfield	1	Romi Bowen	1
Fiona Colley	1	Deborah Collins	1
Dora Dixon-Fyle	1	Gerri Scott	1
Barrie Hargrove	1	Duncan Whitfield	1
Claire Hickson	1		
Richard Livingstone	1	Officers	
Catherine McDonald	1		
Veronica Ward	1	Doreen Forrester-Brown	1
		Jennifer Seeley	1
Other Councillors			
		Trade Unions	
Catherine Bowman	1	D 51.11 014D	
Toby Eckersley	1	Roy Fielding, GMB	1
Neil Coyle	1	Henry Mott, Unite	1
Gavin Edwards	1	Chris Cooper, Unison	1
Dan Garfield	1	Neil Tasker, UCATT	1
David Hubber	1	Michael Davern, NUT	1
Lorraine Lauder	1	James Lewis, NASUWT	1
David Noakes	1	Irene Bishop, ASCL	1
Paul Noblet	1	Othors	
The Right Revd Emmanuel Oyewole	1	Others	
Mark Williams	1	Dahin Camphall Drass Office	4
Andy Simmons	1	Robin Campbell, Press Office	1 20
Tim McNally	1	Paula Thornton, Constitutional Officer	20
Anood Al-Samerai	1		
		Total:	66
Group Offices			
		Dated: 30 January 2013 (pt)	
Chris Page, Cabinet Office	1		
Laura Kavanagh, Opposition Group Office	1		
Press			
F1655			
Southwark News	1		
South London Press	1		
Members of Parliament			
Harriet Harman, MP	1		
Tessa Jowell, MP	1		
Simon Hughes, MP	1		
	•		